## **UNDERWRITERS LABORATORIES®**

Battery Safety Science Symposium (virtual) August 11, 2021

8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Central Time (US and Canada)

## **AGENDA**



SESSION	SESSION TITLE	TIME (CDT)	NAME	AFFILIATION	DESIGNATION
Opening	Remarks	08:30 a.m. – 08:40 a.m.	Dr. Christopher Cramer	Underwriters Laboratories Inc.	Senior Vice President and Chief Research Officer
	Introduction to the Symposium	08:40 a.m. – 08:50 a.m.	Dr. Judy Jeevarajan	Underwriters Laboratories Inc.	Research Director - Electrochemical Safety
I	Recent Advances: Safety Perspective	08:50 a.m. – 09:15 a.m.	Dr. Joshua Lamb	Sandia National Laboratories	Principal Member of the Technical Staff, Advanced Power Sources R&D
		09:15 a.m. – 09:40 a.m.	Dr. Rachel Carter	US Naval Research Laboratory	Mechanical Engineer, Alternative Energy Section
		09:40 a.m. – 10:05 a.m.	Dr. Sagar Mitra	Indian Institute of Technology Bombay	Professor, Energy Science and Engineering Department
		10:05 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.	Dr. Partha P. Mukherjee	Purdue University	Professor & University Faculty Scholar School of Mechanical Engineering
П	Novel Electrode Materials: The Future	10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.	Dr. Arumugam Manthiram	The University of Texas at Austin	Professor, McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering
		11:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.	Dr. Sarbajit Banerjee	Texas A&M University	Professor, Department of Materials Science & Engineering
Llunch Break		11:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.			

## AGENDA (continued)

Keynote Address	Lithium Batteries: Future Trends and the Energy/Safety Trade-off	12:00 p.m. – 01:00 p.m.	Dr. Stanley Whittingham	Binghamton University State University of New York	Professor, Department of Chemistry 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
III	Empirical and Modeling Studies: New Insights	01:00 p.m. – 01:25 p.m.	Dr. Venkat Viswanathan	Carnegie Mellon University	Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
		01:25 p.m. – 01:50 p.m.	Dr. Ankur Jain	The University of Texas at Arlington	Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
		01:50 p.m. – 02:15 p.m.	Dr. Jeff Dahn, FRSC, O.C.	Dalhousie University	Professor of Physics and Atmospheric Science; NSERC/Tesla Canada Inc. Industrial Research Chair
		02:15 p.m. – 02:40 p.m.	Dr. Gleb Yushin	Georgia Tech	Professor, School of Materials Science and Engineering; Co-Founder, Sila Nanotechnologies, Inc.
		02:40 p.m. – 03:05 p.m.	Dr. Rana Mohtadi	Toyota Research Institute of North America	Principal Scientist, Materials Research for Energy Storage
IV	What's New in Standards and Regulations	03:05 p.m. – 03:25 p.m.	Mr. George A. Kerchner	PRBA - The Rechargeable Battery Association	Executive Director
		03:25 p.m. – 03:40 p.m.	Mr. Howard D. Hopper	UL	Global Regulatory Services Manager
		03:40 p.m. – 03:55 p.m.	Mr. Brian O'Connor P.E.	National Fire Protection Association	Technical Services Engineer
		03:55 p.m. – 04:10 p.m.	Mr. Manjunath Vittala Rao	Underwriters Laboratories Inc.	Standards & Programs Manager, South Asia & Sub-Saharan Africa
Closing	Concluding Remarks	04:10 p.m. – 04:20 p.m.	Dr. Christopher Cramer	Underwriters Laboratories Inc.	Senior Vice President and Chief Research Officer
	Closing Remarks and Acknowledgements	04:20 p.m.	Dr. Judy Jeevarajan	Underwriters Laboratories Inc.	Research Director - Electrochemical Safety